RvD501 (Radio501)

Home » Donderslag » Op 31 jan. 2013 in #Donderslag op #Radio501 – De #Platenkeuze van Rob Ricard: Mott The Hoople – All the Young Dudes.

Op 31 jan. 2013 in #Donderslag op #Radio501 – De #Platenkeuze van Rob Ricard: Mott The Hoople – All the Young Dudes.

RVD501 on Twitter


Platenkeuze van Rob Ricard: Mott The Hoople – All the Young Dudes.

All the Young Dudes is the fifth studio album by Mott the Hoople, released in 1972. It was their initial album for the CBS Records label (Columbia Records in North America), after three years with Island Records in the UK and Atlantic Records in North America.

All the Young Dudes was a turning point for the then-struggling British band. Mott the Hoople were about to break up when David Bowie stepped in and gave them the song “All the Young Dudes“. Bowie also produced the album, which took Mott “from potential has-beens to avatars of the glam rock movement”.  A remastered and expanded version was released by Sony BMG on the Columbia Legacy label in the United Kingdom and the United States on 21 February 2006.

The title track, “All the Young Dudes“, was released as a single prior to the album and charted worldwide, becoming the “ultimate ’70s glitterkid anthem”.  “Sweet Jane“, a cover of the Velvet Underground song from their 1970 album Loaded, was issued as a single in Canada, the NetherlandsPortugalSpain and the United States, though not in their home market of the UK. “One of the Boys“, originally the B-side of “All the Young Dudes”, was also released in North America and Continental Europe.

In 2003, the album was ranked number 491 on Rolling Stone magazine’s list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. In 2012, the album listed at #484 on a revised list by the magazine.

“Ready for Love” was later reworked by Mick Ralphs’s later band Bad Company on their self-titled debut.

Speculation has persisted over the years that, although All the Young Dudes was released by CBS/Columbia Records, Mott the Hoople may have recorded part or all of the album while still under contract to their original label, Island Records – a situation that, if proven true, might give Island ownership rights to the recordings. The inclusion of the song “Black Scorpio” (an early version of “Momma’s Little Jewel”) as a bonus track on recent CD versions of the album indicates that Mott began working on the songs that would comprise All the Young Dudes while still signed to Island, as “Black Scorpio”‘s production is co-credited to Island staff producer/A&R executive Muff Winwood.

Public comments from the band regarding this matter have been inconsistent. In an extended August 1980 interview with Trouser Press magazine,  Ian Hunter stated that Mott had completed All the Young Dudes prior to the band leaving Island Records, and that Island’s head Chris Blackwell was unaware the band had a new album ready for release when dissolving their relationship. However, when interviewed about the situation for Chris Hall’s and Mike Kerry’s 2011 documentary Ballad of Mott the Hoople, Hunter laughed nervously, saying “I can’t really discuss it … there’s a blank there as far as I’m concerned – all of a sudden we’re on Columbia Records, and ‘Dudes’ was the first single.


Radio501 on Twitter

%d bloggers like this: